Immunizations protect the health of children against diseases. According to the Immunization of School Pupils Act (1990), students under the age of 18 must provide proof of up-to-date immunization against: diphtheria, tetanus, polio, measles, mumps, and rubella for school entry. Vaccinations against these diseases are free. Parents are responsible for ensuring that their children's vaccines are up-to-date. If you are a new student to the Renfrew County District School Board (RCDSB), you must provide proof of immunization as part of your admission/registration.

The RCDSB works in collaboration with the Renfrew County and District Health Unit to provide immunizations to students. For instance, Health Unit nurses administer the Hepatitis B vaccine to Grade 7 students at RCDSB schools as well as other vaccines to students who require them.

If you choose to not have your child vaccinated (for medical, religious or philosophical reasons), you need to submit either a statement of medical exemption from your doctor or the statement of conscience or religious belief affidavit form (PDF).

For more information on immunizations, please contact your family doctor or the Renfrew County and District Health Unit.